Home > Academics > High Impact Practices > Service Learning

Service Learning

Faculty Resources

Celebrate Service 2020Service Learning Guide

 

About Service Learning

Service Learning combines classwork with real world experiences and increases ones understanding of themselves.

Students Who Serve...

  • Rethink how they learn and why they value their education
  • Become involved in their communities by helping to identify and solve problems
  • Learn about our increasingly varied and changing world
  • Develop resourcefulness, a stronger inner self, and a clearer sense of personal identity
  • Become active learners rather than passive learners
  • Understand unique cultures and the people within them
  • Build closer connections between their campus and environment
  • Are more likely to succeed in their future careers
  • Gain significant real-life experience
  • Increase team-building skills by serving with other students and community members

What is Community Engagement?

Community engagement describes the collaboration between institutions of higher education and their larger communities - local, regional, state, national, global - for the mutually beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources in a context of partnership and reciprocity.
bike

 

Ways to Serve:

 

Organization: Contact: Phone/Email: Volunteer Needs/Website:

Big Brother, Big Sister

Chuck Ackerman

chucka@biglittlecolorado.org

(720) 635-9394

Youth mentoring opportunities

www.BigLittleColorado.org

Boys & Girls Club

Maurice Henson

Jrace Rider

mhenson@bgcppr.org

jrider@bgcppr.org

(719) 570-7077

Youth development activities & mentoring

www.bgcppr.org/volunteer

CASA of Pikes Peak Region

Michael Mersman

michaelme@casappr.org

(719) 428-0493  ext 1060

Advocacy opportunities, educational and enrichment opportunities for children; and more

https://www.casappr.org/volunteer-colorado-springs/

Catholic Charities of Central Colorado

Doug Rouse

DRouse@CCharitiesCC.org 

Volunteer@CCharitiesCC.org

(719) 866-6286

Various opportunities including: Marion House Soup Kitchen, & Handing out sack lunches.

More info and volunteer form at: https://www.ccharitiescc.org/donate/volunteer/

Catholic Volunteer Network

Cassie Kienbaum

ckienbaum@catholicvolunteernetwork.org

(301) 270-0900

Many opportunities in the U.S. and abroad

catholicvolunteernetwork.org/choose-service

Children's Literacy Center

Sandy McGraw

sandy@childrensliteracycenter.org

(719) 471-8672

Tutoring one-on-one in reading to children.

www.childrensliteracycenter.org/volunteer-to-tutor

Colorado Mission of Mercy

Pam

pamcomom@gmail.com

(720) 648-0919

Staffing events, Dental assisting

comom.org/volunteer

Cool Science

Marc Straub

marc@coolscience.org

(719) 964-1042

Assisting with student science demonstrations; Annual Cool Science Carnival, and more

https://www.coolscience.org/

The Council of Neighborhood Organizations

Sara Vaas

sara@cscono.org

(719) 471-3105

Revitalizing neighborhoods

www.cscono.org

Discover Goodwill

Grace Vigil

gvigil@discovermygoodwill.org

(719) 785-9229


jbinion@goodwillcolorado.org 

(719) 424-0781

Processing donations, and much more

www.discovermygoodwill.org/get-involved/volunteer

Focus on the Forest

 

(719)286-0077

There is always office work available.

Our clean up events are primarily scheduled from late sprint through mid-fall however, we are willing to work with groups to organize/plan a clean up around the group's availability.

https://www.focusontheforest.org/volunteer

Haseya Advocate Program

Monycka Snowbird

monycka@red-wind.net

(719) 600-3939

Haseya Advocate Program is a Native woman-led organization that serves Indigenous survivors of domestic and sexual violence in the Colorado Springs, Colorado region.

https://www.haseya.org

CPCD Head Start

Delberta Uvalle

duvalle@cpcd.org

(719) 232-5406

Classroom volunteers, office administrative support, group projects

https://www.cpcdheadstart.org/volunteer

Inside Out: LGBTQ Youth Services

Charlie Morales-Mitchell (they/them)

charlie@insideoutys.org

(719) 328-1056

Seeking supportive and outgoing individuals age 25+ to facilitate center hours and drop-in programming; event assistance, and more.

https://insideoutys.org/contact/

Junior Achievement

Carly Bouts

carly.bouts@ja.org

(719) 636-2474 x 1025

Staffing for events

www.juniorachievement.org

Kingdom Builders Family Life Center

Lisa Jenkins

Info@kbflc.org

(719) 247-8190

Staffing community events

https://kbflc.org/volunteers/

Mission Medical Center

Barb Cronin

barb.cronin@missionmedicalclinic.org

(719) 219-3402

Assisting the uninsured with healthcare

www.missionmedicalclinic.org/volunteer

More Than A Meal Inc.

Randy Sirota

morethanamealcs@gmail.com

(719) 447-5009

Setting up, Serving food, General support

https://www.morethanameal.org/volunteer

Mt. Carmel Center of Excellence

Shawna Dusharm

sdusharm@mtcarmelcenter.org

(719) 309-4715

 

Greeting, Connecting, and Caring for veterans

veteranscenter.org/volunteer

New Century Hospice

 

(719) 330-6652

Hospice volunteers are a valuable part of our care team. Based on your interests and preferences, receive specific volunteer training to help improve the quality of life for others.

https://newcenturyhospice.com/locations/new-century-hospice-colorado-springs/

Pikes Peak Children's Museum

 

volunteer@pikespeakchildrensmuseum.org

 

To see the volunteer opportunities available:

https://www.pikespeakchildrensmuseum.org/volunteer

 

PPSC Office of Sustainability

 

sustainability@pikespeak.edu

(719) 502-2342

Cleaning the creek, and much more

https://www.pikespeak.edu/student-support/sustainability/index.php

The Red Cross

 

 

Emergency aid workers

www.redcross.org/local/colorado/volunteer

The Resource Exchange

Sarah Nolan

snolan@tre.org

 

Support operations, Community-based research

Volunteer Needs: Break Time (children’s respite program), Go Baby Go, other fundraising and marketing activities.

https://www.tre.org/get-involved/

Rocky Mountain Field Institute

Calla Balliett

calla@rmfi.org

 

Environmental stewardship opportunities for a variety of volunteers ranging in age, skill, and interest.

https://www.rmfi.org/learn-about-volunteering

Ronald McDonald House

Charities

 

 

Office support, Staffing family rooms

https://www.rmhcsoutherncolorado.org/volunteer-opportunities/

Safehouse Progressive Alliance for Nonviolence

Ashley

ashleyb@safehousealliance.org

(303) 449-8623

 

Staffing events, Fundraising, and more

https://www.safehousealliance.org/support-span/volunteer/

Salvation Army

Sharon Garland

sharon@usw.salvationarmy.org

(719) 884-1038

Doing activities with kids, Processing donations

https://volunteer.usawest.org/Home.aspx

Stable Strides

Avery White

Volunteer@stablestrides.org

(719) 495-3908 ex. 105

 

Volunteer to help with in our adaptive riding or hippotherapy programs, at events, and working in our office. 

www.stablestrides.org/volunteer/

United Way

Bobby

bobby@ppunitedway.org

Giving your time and talent can change a life! There are many ways to get involved with Pikes Peak United Way and our partners! 

https://www.ppunitedway.org/i-can-volunteer/

Victory Service Dogs

 

(719) 394-4046

 

Fostering a service dog, Office support, Event staffing

victorysd.org/volunteer

Westside CARES

Debra Mitgaurd

debra.mitgaurd@westsidecares.org

(719) 389-0759 Ext. 108

Front desk reception, Advocating for neighbors

westsidecares.org/volunteer